Kasteel Van Mesen, located in the center of Lede in East Flanders, was an important 18th-century aristocratic estate and one of the most significant noble residences of its era. Dating to the 16th century, the castle was elevated to barony status in 1607 and marquisate status in 1633. In 1749, it underwent complete reconstruction by French architect Giovanni Niccolò Servandoni for the 4th Marquess. After 1796, the estate served various industrial purposes including gin distillery, sugar refinery, and tobacco factory operations. The Carmelite Sisters acquired it in 1897 and transformed it into a boarding school for girls, adding wings and a chapel. Though the castle was abandoned in 1972 and subsequently demolished in 2009, it remains documented as a significant part of Flemish heritage history.