
Torre de Mendizábal is a 19th-century neomedieval fortress built between 1881 and 1882 in the Barrio del Príncipe district, designed by engineer Mendicuti and named in honor of Commander Mendizábal who died in 1859. The circular tower features great height with two floors, a battery, and a distinctive internal circular courtyard with a helical staircase, constructed from concrete, lime mortar, masonry, solid brick, and ashlar. Originally equipped with cannon batteries in 1904, it later served as a Foreign Legion correctional facility in 1923 and subsequently housed Civil Guard personnel for border surveillance. Located adjacent to Ceuta's penitentiary center, the fortification remains reachable via the road to the Mirador de Isabel II viewpoint.